Bus Collision Injuries Nine Students, Driver Charged with Reckless Driving
A school bus driver in Fredericksburg, VA has been charged with reckless driving after a crash that injured herself and nine students, reports the Manassas Patch.
Prince William County resident Veronica Ofelia Espinosa, 37, was driving a 2007 Thomas school bus north on Bethlehem Road at around 2 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 11th, and as she approached Sudley Manor Dr., she allegedly failed to stop at an intersection and made a right turn, colliding with a 1999 GMC truck.
The accident sent nine children to the hospital with minor injuries that included mostly bruises and bumps. Espinosa also suffered minor injuries and received hospital treatment.
Espinosa was released on a summons later Tuesday after the collision.
A reckless driving conviction carries a maximum of 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,500.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) compiles a multitude of statistics about injuries and illnesses, including statistics about car accidents.
Virginia Statistics About Motor Vehicle
FREE CLAIM REVIEW
Don’t Let The Insurance Companies Give You The Runaround! Contact Us Today
As attorneys, we understand insurance companies' tactics to avoid paying claims. We encourage you not to let them confuse or deceive you. Our services are here to help you navigate the complicated insurance process and fight for your rights. Don't let the insurance companies give you the runaround – contact us today to get the legal support you need.
01How Soon Should I Contact a Lawyer After an Accident?
Contacting a lawyer immediately after an accident is crucial to protect your legal rights, preserve evidence, and avoid missing deadlines that could impact your case.
02Should I Avoid Talking to Insurance Adjusters?
It's wise to avoid speaking with insurance adjusters without consulting an attorney first, as they may use the information against you to minimize your compensation or reject your claim entirely.
03What if the Other Driver is Lying About the Accident?
Gathering evidence like witness statements and photographs will help prove your side of the story. The best way to fight a false narrative by the at-fault driver is with facts that prove the truth.
04What Happens to My Lost Wages?
If you can't work because of an injury from someone else's negligence, you may be entitled to compensation for lost wages, benefits, and bonuses. An attorney can help you pursue that compensation through negotiations or litigation.
05How is Parrish Law Firm Different?
Founding partner James R. Parrish knows the best strategies for fighting for fair compensation from insurance companies because he used to represent the insurancers in personal injury cases. A background of working on the other side of personal injury claims gives him the insider knowledge necessary to take on these deep-pocketed companies.
06How Long Do I Have to Settle My Case?
There is no strict time limit on settling a personal injury claim. However, there are restrictions on the amount of time you have to file a lawsuit. In Virginia, you must file your personal injury lawsuit within two years of the date of the accident. The time it takes to settle a case depends on the circumstances surrounding the accident and the motivations of both parties. These cases can last from a few months to several years.