Fairfax County bicycle-related vehicle hit-and-runs are up 100 percent in the last two years, reports FairfaxTimes.com.
Bud Walker, a police spokesman who compiles crash statistics for Fairfax, finds that incidents of bicycle accidents in which the motor vehicle driver flees the scene of the accident have increased in the past three years, moving from five in 2010, to six in 2011 and finally to 12 last year.
The driver of a motor vehicle is legally obligated to pull over at the scene of a bicycle accident and verify the condition of the bicyclist. However, only when a driver leaves the scene without pulling over does the incident become illegal. If the driver stays, generally the worst legal repercussion he or she may face would be a fine.
Under Virginia law, a hit-and-run accident that leaves $1,000 or less in damages is classified as a class one misdemeanor and can result in a maximum fine of $2,500. If the accident results in an injury or death, or the damage is greater than $1,000, it is considered a class 5 felony and one can face up to 10 years in prison.
Parrish Law Firm, PLLC bicycle accident lawyer works with those northern Virginia bicyclists who have been injured in accidents as a result of a negligent party. Call us today at 703-906-4229 or send us an email and tell us about your case.