Call Us for a Free Consultation Today (571) 229-1800
How Does The Virginia Driving Points System Work?

The Parrish Law Firm Blog

Legal News & Information Designed To Keep You Safe

How Does The Virginia Driving Points System Work?

January 11, 2019 by The Parrish Law Firm

We’ve all gotten pulled over at some point or another (no pun intended). Before you know it you have negative 4 points on your driving record and you’re not exactly sure what that means. Well, we’re about to explain how the state and the DMV keep track of your driving record.

When you are pulled over and convicted of violating a traffic law, depending on the severity of which driving law you breached, you are issued demerit points. Each conviction stays on your DMV record for varying lengths of time; however, the length of time that associated demerit points stay on your DMV record is usually not the same. DMV demerit points stay on your driving record for two years from the date you were issued a ticket and yes, these demerit points accumulate.

Violations and how long they stay on your driving record

6 Point Violations 

Reckless Driving — Typically defined by driving over 80 mph or by driving 20 mph over the speed limit. Other reckless driving offenses include racing, passing a school bus when its stop sign is present, failing to give proper signals and passing at a railroad crossing. Reckless driving convictions stay on your record for 11 years.

Driving While Intoxicated — Most DWI related offenses stay on your record for 11 years. Driving after illegally consuming alcohol (under 21) stays on your record for 3 years. See our DWI Guide here.

Manslaughter — Unintentionally killing a person(s) as a result of recklessness or negligence stays on your record for 11 years.

4 Point Violations

Speeding — If you get a speeding ticket going 10 – 19 miles over the speed limit, this violation stays on your record for 5 years.

Passing — If you pass when it is unsafe to do so, this violation stays on your record for 3 years.

Improper Stopping or Yielding — Failing to stop for emergency vehicles, pedestrians or failing to yield to right-of-way vehicles, when turning left and funeral processions remains on your record for 3 years.

Following Too Closely or Failing to Signal Properly — Stays on your record for 3 years.

Hit and Run — Stays on your record for 11 years.

Disregarding a Police Officer’s Signal — Stays on your record for 3 years.

Failure to Obey Highway Lane Markings — Stays on your record for 3 years.

3 Point Violations 

Speeding — If you get a speeding ticket going 1 – 9 miles over the speed limit, this violation stays on your record for 5 years.

Improper Passing/Driving; Failing to Give Way to Overtaking Vehicles — Stays on your record for 3 years.

Operating an Unsafe Vehicle — Stays on your record for 3 years.

Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License — Stays on your record for 11 years.

Improper Turn; Illegal U-Turn; Right Turn Violation at Light  — Stays on your record for 3 years.

Failure to Obtain Driver’s License — Stays on your record for 3 years.

These are the most common offenses that result in citizens having negative points added to their driving records. We hope this guide simplifies an otherwise complex system, which the DMV has put in place to keep track of your driving record.

Associations, Memberships & Accolades

  • AVVO Top Rated Lawyer
  • The Corporate America Legal Elite twentyfifteen Personal Injury Lawyer
  • American Institute of Personal Injury Attorneys Fairfax VA
  • American Association for Justice logo
  • Avvo Clients' Choice Award 2017 for Personal Injury Law Firm logo
  • Prince William County Bar Association logo personal injury law firm
  • Fairfax Virginia Trial Lawyers Association logo
  • Personal injury attorney fairfax va bar association logo
  • Naopia Badge
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 100
Jim Parrish Personal Injury Law Firm Logo
Get in Touch Today (571) 229-1800

two Locations to Meet You

Manassas Office
Fairfax Office